The Butcher, the Baker…

Whew!  We've had so much going on lately that I feel like I'm blogging everyday!

With the baby on the way Amos and I have gone a little heirloom-crazy.  Not that it's a bad thing; we're just interested in having special things for our daughter and other maybe future children.  Add that to Amos's persistence in doing things correctly and I give you this:



This is a custom pot he worked with the local potter from Clinton pottery to create.  It's an ideal environment for making a starter for sourdough bread.  If you create a starter you can always cut from it, from now until whenever!  It grows back because of the yeast activity, so as long as you leave some dough in there you can always make more.  This pot was designed to shelter the dough and allow yeast from the air to collect via these tiny holes in the pot.  The shaft of the hole goes diagonally down from the inside, so nothing but air (and the yeast it carries from all over) can get in that way.  





It's a really neat concept, and one that Amos completely designed.  He researched the process and saw that most people start theirs in something like a mason jar, which is not that attractive and quite a bit smaller than he wanted, so he designed this pot.  With the increase in surface area, he went from dough ingredients to this burst of activity in only  24 hours!







I am really proud of him for designing this pot and seeing it through production.  It's already working out amazingly, and I'm sure I'll be partaking in some gustatory rewards soon!


Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 thoughts on “The Butcher, the Baker…

  1. I know nothing about Sourdough bread production – but it looks really neat! It seems that everytime I have a baby I feel the urge to create/buy a special momento to pass down to them…this time it was Jenna's baptismal gown.

  2. I know, I have no idea what he's doing, but it's so cool that he's into it! That is sweet; I think it's important for each child to have something special from their parents. I know treasure the things I have from my mom.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

