I’m Good with my Hands

Now that I'm home all the time I've been catching up on the things I like to do the best – making stuff.  I have been playing around with my new camera, organizing, and knitting up a storm, especially now that my feet get so swollen I can't bend my toes (knitting is easy to do whilst your feet are up higher than your heart!).  So I'm taking time today to show off some of my newest creations for le bebe.


First, here is a little something I whipped up last night while listening to music outside at the Shopper's Stroll.  At my knitting group yesterday (which I have started up again since I'm not at work every Thursday) a lady brought in a pattern for this dishcloth/trivet/pot holder/whatever.  I have made Hazel quite a few washcloths out of cotton yarn, but they are too boring for words – just a plain knit stitch square – so I was super excited to see how pretty these are and how quick they are to knit!
I exaggerated the color a bit so you could see the pattern a little better.






This little cutie I have been working on for a couple of weeks.  May I present my first knitted wearable clothing item!!
I used Lionbrand Microspun yarn, which is 100% acrylic but super slick and smooth.  It really feels wonderful.  In fact, I bought this yarn last year before I was married, way before I thought I would be pregnant, just because it felt so awesome at the store.  It was kind of tricky to work with; if you're familiar with embroidery floss then you understand how loosely this yarn is twisted together.  But I pushed through it and now I have a cute, lightweight, kimono-style sweater for Hazel in a gorgeous color.  I love more adult colors on babies; who says all their stuff has to be ugly neon or pastel??
I have also been experimenting with stenciling onto clothing.  I realized after doing these four that I've been using parchment paper, which is not the same as freezer paper, and infinitely more difficult since parchment curls up and freezer paper sticks to clothing a bit when you iron it.  I can't even blame that on preggo brain!  So here are my slightly smeared baby onesies (with more to come after a trip to the store for freezer paper!).






























And this is a sneak preview of a super secret project I'm working on for someone else (you know I can't keep it totally a secret!!!)…




Read and post comments | Send to a friend

One thought on “I’m Good with my Hands

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

