The Verdict: Innocent

Yep, the pediatric cardiologist declared Hazel's problem to be an "innocent murmur."  He said that what we were really hearing was the blood in her lungs rushing about, something like that, and that everything would be normal and regulated by about 6 months.  I am so relieved; I was definitely worried, no matter what kind words people had to pass on to us.  The doctor was really nice, too, which was awesome.


Since baby girl was okay and we were in Syracuse, we hit up the mall together!  Let me tell you, it was way harder than I thought it would be.  This is the first time I've used the stroller by myself; Amos and I have used it a total of three times.  Getting it in and out of the trunk was a major struggle, way harder than it looks.  That thing must weigh 25 or 30 lbs!!  Add a freezing rain to that, plus me in a dress, and I'm sure you can imagine what choice four-letter words crossed these lips.  That I kind of expected; having a hard time once in the mall was kind of a surprise.  I never thought about having to always find an elevator, not an escalator.  I scraped my knuckles a couple of times trying to get into the bathroom with a heavy wooden door bearing down on us, and in Steve & Barry I gave a sales associate crazy face when she opened a regular-size dressing room for us.  Naw, holmes, I wanted to say, we need to super-size it.  In H&M I even just blocked off the door to the last dressing room with her stroller and changed with the door open (at 10 am, with a newly-opened and subsequently empty mall this is possible).  Also I did maybe seven accidental wheelies because of the pile of clothes riding on the handlebar.  Note to self:  don't try on a pile of clothes that weighs more than she does.

Summary – driving a stroller is really tricky!  I thought it just meant that you had a cup holder and an easy place to put your lip gloss.  Today I felt like a 15-year-old doing a school project about not getting pregnant; you know, where you carry around a bag of flour and pretend to feed it, except I was driving through a obstacle course with one hand on the stroller and the other holding a 10 lb. bag of flour that really pooped and screamed and breastfed in the food court.  All these little adventures are shocking; not maddening or upsetting, but I'm always surprised that those things aren't what I thought they would be.  

More photos to come, also!  I have slowed down a bit on taking pictures, but promise that I'll have some new ones very soon.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

5 thoughts on “The Verdict: Innocent

  1. Yay! That's great to hear, Laura!! And LOL about the stroller. As a guy I fancy myself good at all things driving-related – shopping cart, race car, speedboat in a Don Johnson Miami Vice kind of way, you name it. But the first time I pushed a friend's baby around in the stroller, I ran over another small child. Totally. I coughed and played off the wailing so no one would know. ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. I am so glad about Hazel…I am super relieved, too.
    As for the stroller, welcome to Mommy hood!
    And, you have more to look forward to….Wait until you have one in the stroller, and another one running amok!
    Big time fun…?
    LOVE YOU AND THE SWEETIE!
    Mom

  3. I'm glad to hear everything went well at the doctors!About the heavy stroller…hehe, just think of all the muscles you are going to gain over the next 2yrs or so of using it! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

