Healthy Cooking

Since my pregnancy began, and especially since I had the baby, I have been trying to steadily get healthier.  At the beginning of the pregnancy I quit smoking (and have not started back, either), gave up wild, late nights, and kept any junk food indulgences to a minimum.  I didn't eat that much junky stuff before, but my eating habits have always been rather erratic, sometimes going all day without anything to a huge dinner, or eating the same few things for weeks at a time – basically just weird and probably not letting my body take full advantage of anything good I did eat.  Over the past few years, even, I've managed to cut out most of the processed food that I liked as a kid, and in the past two years I have made a concerted, conscious effort to cut out ALL fast food, even when I'm in a hurry.  It doesn't always work, of course, but I'm also learning not to beat myself up when I do slip up.


Luckily I really like a lot of "healthy" food, so put in quotes because it's the stuff you always read about eating but few people actually do, like kale, lentils, barley, cottage cheese, plain yogurt, buckwheat, tofu, all that stuff.  The hardest thing is finding the time to prepare it, particularly at lunch time when I'm busy with the baby and Amos isn't here to help me out a bit.  However, my friend Carrie recently introduced me to these:

They are noodles made out of tofu.  You use them just like you would regular pasta, except all you have to do to prep them is drain them, microwave them for about 2 minutes, and then I like to drain them again.  I was a little hesitant, I admit, but I absolutely love them!  They don't taste or feel like pasta; they have a chewy texture that reminds me of rehydrated wild mushrooms, yum, and they are pretty bland.  Carrie advised pairing them with a strong sauce, which definitely works the best.  I tried them with regular tomato sauce and it's wasn't awesome…not gross, but not great.

Because I don't know how to just make sauces, I decided to try these out in a stir-fry type thing, or in other words something I know I can do everyday.  I cut up some squash, collards, onions, and garlic, sauteed the whole thing in some fish sauce (strong and convenient!) and added the noodles at the last second to take on the flavor.  Delicious!!  So good, so fast, and the entire package of noodles is only 40 calories.  You read it correctly, my friends – 40 calories.  In fact, I'm willing to bet this ginormous plate of delicious food (I definitely made too much, but I'll work on sizing for one person more as time goes on) is just a couple hundred calories.  It was really great, and I am proud of myself for making something so healthy, delicious, and pretty!  :)

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

One thought on “Healthy Cooking

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

