Gratuitous Hazel

Smiling.  Being silly.  Pretending to talk.  These are things we do all day!


In other news, we are trying a new naptime schedule.  Up till now I've been relaxed about nursing/nap schedules; I let her tell me when she's hungry, which has worked out wonderfully, and we had her on an ironclad bath & nighttime routine by 4 weeks, which still is awesome.  Day time sleeping, however, is another story.  She hasn't ever been a big napper, falling asleep for 10 or 15 minutes at a time, then being ferociously insane by about 6 or 6.30 pm.  Maybe I'm just blind, but I didn't realize that maybe she needed a good nap – Amos brought it up, tentatively to give him credit, that probably I needed to get her to sleep during the day.  

Lo and behold, it freaking worked!  Yesterday, after only an hour of cajoling, I got her to take a three-hour nap.  Today we got thrown a little off schedule, since the solid nap caused her to not sleep as late this morning, but we are working on it.  I found that if I nursed her in keeping with the nighttime routine (on our bed, lying down, curtains drawn, instead of in the living room with lights on) she more readily went down to sleep.  Maybe that sequence triggered "sleep time" for her?  Anyway it was awesome.  By this time next week I hope to have a routine in place like we do for bedtime.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 thoughts on “Gratuitous Hazel

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

