Hallelujah!!

She likes rice cereal mixed with WATER!!!!


You have no idea how happy this makes me.  See, she loves the cereal mixed with breast milk, and screams like Satan's favorite banshee when we try to feed her cereal & formula.  But breast milk doesn't grow on trees, you know.  It's hard to come by.  It should be called breast gold.  For you all who are fortunate enough to not have overworked boobies, that means you have to pump.  Like a cow.  It's bothersome, it's weird, and it hurts (me, at least), and it presents a unique catch-22.  Because Hazel's ready for solid food she's nursing around the clock, which makes it even harder for me to find a time where she's not hungry and my breasts are full enough to work with the pump.  So I've been waking up around 6 and to go into the cold living room to  pump while my breasts are super full.  This means only feeding the baby on one side all night, so one's all empty and one is rock hard and painful.  When pumping doesn't work, because it just doesn't for me, I let Hazel get things going.  That means milk does come out in the pump, but Hazel's pissed because she got taken away from breakfast and has to wait at least 30 more minutes before I can get enough to make the cereal.  Do all this one-handed and on the floor, because Amos is getting ready for work or already gone by now.  So, in short, I want to commit harikari for one measly ounce of breast milk.

We tried mixing the cereal with water for the first time today, after a disastrous morning feeding with formula, and she did amazing!  I was so, so elated that she's ok with cereal and water.  I'm tossing out that formula and never looking back!!!!!

Plus she kept grabbing for the spoon, so finally we let her have it.  Some of it actually did get in her mouth 🙂


Read and post comments | Send to a friend

4 thoughts on “Hallelujah!!

  1. I'm so happy for you ^_^For that I'm partly glad the breastfeeding didn't work out for us but we had our share of other troubles ;-)So do you always start with rice cereal or is this because of the transition between breastfeeding and solids? Here we used to start with a mash of fruits and "babycookies" (I don't know how to call them in English) but now they start with a mash of vegetables (carrots/potatoes/…) at 4 months. Our daughter was against that "revolution" ;-P She started with simple fruits at 3 months because she always got blocked and our pediatrician said it was the most natural way to solve that problem as she was ready to start on her solids ^_^ And ofcourse she had a weaird taste: no pear or apple… kiwi and melon are much more yummy :-DI hope Hazel will like the new things better than the formula ^_^

  2. I know, I'm not excited about weaning her from breastfeeding altogether, but we still have a couple of months before we'll do that. Here they recommend rice cereal first, then yogurt and oat cereal, then veggies, then fruits, then meat. I think the rationale is that if you give them fruits first they'll reject the less-sweet veggies and things later. I think she's going to like food; she's totally into this cereal, so I hope that extends to other things as well!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

