Bath Time and Algebra

Ok, not yet.  But she's going to any day now.

Because she loves the bath so much, Amos (he's in charge of bath time) decided to let her lay full-length in the tub, with about an inch of water in there.  She was going crazy, slapping the water, laughing at us (!), even turning over without getting her face in the water.  Seriously, I was about to grab the video camera, but then she made the fatal mistake of trying to drink the bathwater while lying on her stomach; of course it went up her nose, and she coughed and cried for a bit.  Despite the ignoble ending, Hazel had a super fun time.  I think this is going to become a standard for her; a little playtime before we get down to business.

As for me, algebra has me down.  Way down.  In studying for the GRE, I decided to go back to my mathematical roots and start at the beginning, so to speak.  After all, it's been about 10 years since I took an algebra course, and about 4 or 5 since I took my last math in college.  I'm using an old textbook of Amos's, supplemented by various other books and worksheets I find online, and it is kicking my ass.  I am working on quadratic equations now, ones with radicals and ones that have to be factored, ones with exponents and ones with square roots under another square root sign.  If anyone can solve this I'll give you $1000:



Ok, I'm not going to give you $1000.  But if you can solve it send me your work, and I'll give you a brief flash of a grin before I go back to work.  I promise not to give you the snake eyes because you could do it and I couldn't.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

6 thoughts on “Bath Time and Algebra

  1. x=3 is right! Now you have to tell me how you did it! I don't know what I'm doing incorrectly with these kinds of problems, but I always get to a stuck point where I have some huge numbers, like the square of 15782 or something. Could you take a picture of your work and send it to me?

  2. Thank you!! I see where I messed up, right around the factoring part. I feel a bit better; I was doing it correctly, but made a small error that threw the whole thing to hell. Thanks for taking the time to figure that out! ❤

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

