“Theme in Yellow” by Carl Sandburg

I  spot the hills

With yellow balls in autumn.

I light the prairie cornfields

Orange and tawny gold clusters

5

And I am called pumpkins.

On the last of October

When dusk is fallen

Children join hands

And circle round me

10

Singing ghost songs

And love to the harvest moon;

I am a jack-o'-lantern

With terrible teeth

And the children know

15

I am fooling. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

One thought on ““Theme in Yellow” by Carl Sandburg

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

