Cooking with MAMA!

Sometimes I cook, did you know?  Sometimes it's good, most often it's weird, but I have definitely made something the whole family will enjoy here (well, my family, I think).  I love a good muffin – this you should know up front.  Not a cupcakey muffin, but a hearty, healthy muffin that does not taste like the bottom of my rollerskates.  This recipe came about a few weeks ago, when I decided to make cinnamon pumpkin muffins for Hazel and I, only to have almost none of the major ingredients.  Improvisation ensued, and a few weeks of (delicious) testing later, I give you Lemon Blueberry Muffins!

 
I love these things.  Their texture is more like a really good loaf of bread than a cake, and I have tried to make them as healthy as possible while still being sweet.  I have made them a couple of different ways, like putting in more berries, different berries or jam, and as long as you keep the basics (flour, eggs) the same, I think you can safely experiment with flavors.  Here's the recipe – I am too proud NOT to share, I'll admit it!  Cooking is the most prominent thing I enjoy that doesn't come naturally, so when I do make something that I really like I just have to share.  :)

Lemon Blueberry Muffins

 

Dry Ingredients

  • 1 c. AP flour
  • 1 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1 c. wheat or oat bran
  • 4 tbsp. toasted wheat germ
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • ½ tsp. cinnamon
  • grated nutmeg to taste
  • pinch salt

 

Wet Ingredients

  • 1 c. milk (buttermilk is nice too)
  • 1 c. blueberries (if frozen, defrost for 45 seconds)
  • 1 c. applesauce
  • 4 tbsp. blueberry jam (no sugar added is best)
  • 2 tsp. lemon juice
  • zest of one lemon, if desired

 

  1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees and coat your muffin pan with non-stick spray.
  2. Mix together all the dry ingredients in a rather large bowl.
  3. Toss the blueberries in there and coat them with the dry ingredients.
  4. Put the jam in a separate bowl (big enough for all the wet ingredients) and mash it with a fork.
  5. Add the egg, breaking the yolk as if for scrambled eggs, and mix with the jam.
  6. Add the rest of the wet ingredients (except the blueberries, which are in the flour already) and stir to combine.
  7. Combine the wet ingredients with the dry ones in the larger bowl.
  8. Stir, but be careful not to over-mix the batter, or the muffins will turn out tough and gross. Believe me on this.
  9. Spoon them out into the pan, with the batter just coming to the top of the muffin cups. 
  10. Bake for approximately 15-20 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out cleanly.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

