Healthy Lunch

Now that we are mostly settled in, Amos and I (mainly me, since I'm at home with Hazel right now) are working on getting her back into the daily routines we've set her whole life.  A major area for scheduling involves food.  We've been packing, moving, on the road, or on the go for weeks now, and Hazel's been exposed to a wider variety of weird food situations than ever before.  She's done very well, but I can see already a few areas of concern where she's been acting up; for example, at my mom's house, she wants to eat ALL the time except at mealtimes.  We don't allow constant snacking, but in the wake of all the upset moving caused, she's been trying to do these things she knows aren't allowed.  Today was really the first day she and I had a 'normal' lunch together.  I've decided to include the recipe/mention of it here for two reasons:  everyone is always surprised at how well she eats, in regards to both her table manners and the variety of food she likes, and also I have a lot of people ask me about how we make her food in particular, but also how we make it fit into our lifestyle.  Amos and I work on eating healthy, real food, so while we do have some food vices (cheeseburger Doritos, anyone?), we generally have a nice, varied diet.  I'm eager to get back to it, actually!  I like routines too – wonder where Hazel gets it from??  ;)

Today's lunch took about 20 minutes top to bottom, and that included prepping all the vegetables.  Normally I have onions and carrots chopped and stored in the fridge, but like I said we're not back into our normal routines just yet.  
Black Beans & Vegetables
1 can black beans, rinsed
2 carrots, peeled and chopped
1/2 onion, chopped 
~2 tsp. smoked paprika
1/2 c. chopped green beans
All of this was sauteed in some olive oil.  Yeah, that's all I did!  This was Hazel's version of lunch, with the green beans chopped up smaller.  For myself, I also added boiled green beans on top and about 1.5 tbsp of these organic TVP bacon bits we brought from Tom's.  The rest of the green beans from the bunch I bought were also boiled, and I put them in the fridge for tonight's dinner.  Splitting up food in that way, preparing ahead, makes healthy cooking (or any cooking that doesn't come from a box) quite a bit easier!  :)

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

3 thoughts on “Healthy Lunch

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

