Recipe! Seared Chicken with Lemon & Basil Pasta

Dudes, I was feeling FANCY today.  Amos took Hazel to work with him, which meant I had a little SPRING BREAK 'tude going on (which has apparently morphed into a 'dorkitude,' but y'all just bear with me here).  I just puttered around Huntsville a bit, going to Target for some Little Swimmers and a Starbucks coffee (oh, how I missed thee), then up to Earth Fare, where I got a delicious salad and some organic, happy-raised chicken legs for tonight!  The afternoon I spent with my feet up, knitting and watching "The L-Word" until my hair appointment.  I met a fantastic stylist who will undoubtably be my regular forever.  I love her.  I love my hair right now.  

After picking up Hazel and Amos, I cooked dinner while they had a little fun at Lowe's.  Amos and Hazel both went crazy over it, hence, the recipe entry.  This dinner took about an hour, but that was mostly because of the time the chicken needed to cook.  I have made the pasta alone in about 20 minutes.  It's simple but amazingly flavorful.  Thanks to my friend Leah in New York who gave me the idea for the lemon basil pasta; it's a family recipe for her.
Seared Chicken with Lemon & Basil Pasta
Ingredients
2 chicken legs, or some cut with the bone & skin still there
box of pasta
some basil
2 lemons
onions
mushrooms
some olive oil and wine
  1. Set an oven-safe skillet over high heat on the stovetop & preheat your oven to about 350 degrees.
  2. Wash and dry your chicken.  Rub a little olive oil on the meat.
  3. Put that chicken in the pan, skin side down, and sprinkle with salt and pepper.  
  4. Enjoy the sizzling.
  5. Wait until the bottom is seared nicely, then flip the meat over, add more salt and pepper, and let that side sear also.
  6. Stick a thermometer into the fattest part of the meant and transfer the whole pan into the oven.
  7. While waiting for the chicken to reach 180 or so degrees, zest the lemons (but don't cut them yet) and chiffonade the basil.  
  8. When the chicken gets to something like 160 degrees, start your pasta water boiling.
  9. Cook the pasta according to the amount you're making and the type of noodle.
  10. When the chicken's done, take the pan out of the oven and set the meat on a plate to rest.
  11. See all that brown awesomeness still in the pan?  YUM.  Put that pan over high heat!
  12. Cut the lemons in half, then squeeze the juice into the pan.  
  13. Add the zest, mushrooms, onions, a little wine if you got it, some olive oil, and about a cup or so of the pasta water.  
  14. Let the liquid come to a boil then start whisking to get all the meaty crunchies off the pan.
  15. When the liquid has reduced to your liking, throw some whole-wheat flour on top and whisk!!  Quick fast like lightening!!!
  16. When your sauce has thickened, which should only take a couple of seconds, add the sauce to your cooked & drained pasta.  
  17. BOOM!  The meal is done!  

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

