Quick Pregnancy Update

I just saw the midwife, so I thought I would post a quick update for you all!  I heard the baby’s heartbeat today, which registered at about 150 bpm.  And, I’m just throwing this out there, if one were inclined to believe those myths about heart rate and gender, this would lean towards a baby girl on the way rather than a dude.  I’m just pointing this out for fun, particularly since it’s been proven over and over that heart rate doesn’t have anything to do with sex.  While we were listening to the heartbeat we heard some loud kind of reverb thumps, which Roberta explained as the baby either hiccuping or moving around.  Yes – it was totally precious.  And yes – I can’t believe I just used the word “precious.”

Anyway, everything was fine, except my yearly Pap smear, which I’m not even going to go into; suffice it to say that being pregnant and having anyone mess with your woodle is way hurtier.  The next appointment is for October 14th, which is the BIG appointment – the ultrasound where we get to spy on the baby’s junk!  For me, this is the coolest part of being pregnant.  I like knowing what’s what with everything all the time, so it should come as no surprise that I want to know its sex ASAP.  Plus, have you been shopping for a newborn?  EVERYTHING is gendered.  And I would not mind dressing my boy in pink or having my daughter wearing a tool belt, but I know that having strangers routinely ask me why I’m making my child gay will make me furious.  I gotta plan, people!  I’ve also got to get to work and quit stalling my research by blathering on about my unborn miracle.  😛

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

