Postpartum Food

Toddler Version

I talk about food kind of a lot on this blog.  It’s right up there before school and after the girls (mostly…ok, sometimes it’s tied for first).  I’ve blogged a couple of times about how I dislike the food restrictions of pregnancy more than morning sickness or stretch marks.  In true Confer style, then, it should come as no surprise that my first meal home from the hospital, two days after giving birth, was a huge, rare steak and a FULL glass of wine.

Adult Version

Doesn’t this look amazing?  Amos is such a thoughtful husband.  He bought the steaks earlier that day, then let them rest out on the counter for a while so we could get a truly delicious rare steak that could also handle a nice sear on the outside.  Because he did that Hazel could also have some of the meat without having to cook it further.  To top the steak, he melted a homemade compound butter (butter, parsley, and sour cream) down with the pan juices to make an incredibly rich sauce that perfectly complimented the meat.  On the side we had roasted asparagus and snap beans, and to round out the meal (mostly for Hazel) we had a small amount of basmati rice.  The malbec we shared is the same one I was raving about earlier.  It’s called Alamos, and it is diVINE.  Do your mouth a favor and try some – I’m telling you, it is by far my favorite wine right now.

This is one of many lovely postpartum meals I’ll be talking about as I climb back to my normal palate after all the restrictions, aversions, and cravings that pregnancy brings.  I don’t know what’s next on the list, but I’m sure another rare steak isn’t too far away.

One thought on “Postpartum Food

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

