Strawberry Rhubarb Syrup

Tuesday night was pancake night in the Confer house (oh yeah, this is a real thing for me), and I wanted to make it special.  Not because pancakes are special, but as a kind of “see, pancake dinners can be totally grown-up and fun and GOURMET, dammit” gesture for Amos.  So, the girls and I walked up to the grocery store (Hen House…how weird is that name?!) in hopes of seeing something fun to go with dinner.  I saw rhubarb right smack in the front, so of course I bought a huge bunch right away.  I love strawberry rhubarb pie, but I don’t love what pie does to my postpartum diet, so how amazing would it be if I could somehow make it a non-stress-inducing part of my life?  Well, not to brag, but I freaking DID.  Success!!!!!!

Strawberry Rhubarb Syrup

1 lb. each strawberries and rhubarb

1/3 cup each balsamic vinegar and sugar

1 tbsp ground black pepper

splash of water

  1. Prep the berries and rhubarb, trimming off ends and slicing.
  2. Combine in a bowl with the vinegar and sugar, stirring to make sure the fruit is covered.
  3. Cover bowl with a dishtowel and leave for at least 3 hours.  This could go overnight, even.
  4. Transfer to a sauce pan, add just a bit of water (a couple of tablespoons, maybe) and bring to a boil.
  5. Drop the heat to a simmer, stirring frequently, and add the pepper.
  6. Cook for a while until the syrup is as thick as you’d like.  I think I cooked it for about 15-20 minutes, mostly because I was making the pancakes.  Just keep the heat low so the syrup won’t burn.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

