So This is New Jersey

It’s been so long since I updated, so much has happened, that I am just not going to spend all that time recalling, in minute detail, all the stuff we’ve been doing.  I mean, most of it is common to anyone who’s been moving, anyway!  So here’s one of my preferred numbered lists:

  1. We packed, we lived in a hotel for a week (kind of fun, having a staff of sweet maids who tucked in Hazel’s Corduroy every time they made her bed), and then we moved into our apartment and started unpacking.
  2. I unpacked a bunch of stuff we didn’t have out in KC (picture frames, decor stuff, too-small clothes from pre-pregnancy), sorted it, and repacked some things into a smaller number of boxes that are currently lining our garage.
  3. I sorted Christmas, put up our tree, and wrapped stuff.
  4. I’m applying to approximately 100 of the 1500 schools in this densely populated area that offer a MA in English, so I’ve been doing a lot of transcript uploading and statement of purpose writing.
  5. I’m studying for the GRE subject test in literature, so I unpacked a lot of dusty books from my undergrad years and I’m currently sneezing my way through An Introduction to Literary Theory.
  6. We are researching preschools and daycares, which is only slightly less logistically difficult (with one car) than teaching yourself to hang glide with a broken arm.
  7. Amos goes to work, does secret Samsung stuff we can’t talk about, and comes home, shell-shocked from the intense traffic.
  8. Hazel and Julia run and army crawl through their super huge room.  We gave them the bigger bedroom because the smaller one has a bigger closet.

And so there you go.  I haven’t been doing a whole lot of photo-taking, but I do plan on taking some of our place/this cute little town so all you interested family can see.  It’s a curious mix; we live on a rather busy road, but if we walk east about two blocks on some dirty, small, cracked-up sidewalks, we go across a gorgeous river on an old wrought iron bridge and can walk through a couple of blocks of cute shops housed in historic buildings.  AND there is a yarn shop there, with a sort of cutely curmudgeonly proprietor who took away my coffee because “we’ve had spills before.”  One day I’m going to be like that surly old bird.

Overall, though, I think we all like it here.  Now that we’re getting settled, too, I plan to be back blogging like before.  To send you off here’s a hilarious video of Julia discovering one of the snaps on her diaper.  In the background you can hear the wonderful sounds of Hazel whining because she pitched a slapping fit and got sent to her room, by herself, until bath time (she was sitting on her bed, amidst all her toys and books, but was totally miserable because she was segregated from the rest of the fam…ULTIMATE PUNISHMENT).

3 thoughts on “So This is New Jersey

  1. One question, in my interpretation of the above I pictured Hazel having a fit, and during so also realizing she should be punished and sending herself to her room. While I realize this is quite possibly unlikely, I am liking the idea and can totally picture her doing this. I just need a little clarification. Also I am really glad you have all gotten settled and are enjoying yourselves. Happy holidays!

    • She’s been throwing fits lately that involve high-pitched screaming and slapping herself in the chest. Yesterday she had a bad day, getting in trouble for little things over and over, and it culminated in pitching a fit. We dropped a big punishment on her, which was to clean her room by herself and stay alone in there for about an hour. We also took down a tent we made with a sheet (she’s been sleeping on a pallet under there for a few nights). Trust me, she’s cute, but not when she’s screaming wide-eyed at your face! Happy holidays to you guys too!

  2. I love the video, especially heading hazel in the background! Don’t you remember pitching those fits as kids and getting into trouble? It seemed like the end of the world to us…awe, the sweet innocence of. Childhood!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

